To quit my job tomorrow?

(25 Posts)
givepeasachance Mon 25-Jan-16 01:06:34

I hate it.
It sucks.
The people I work for are nasty micromanaging toads.
I only did it because I was desperate.

I was desperate because I used to work for self and my biggest contract was cancelled without warning (something outside my control completely) and I've been doing it for 3 months.

I am lone parent.
I have some inheritance arriving in next few weeks which will tide me over 2.5 months.

AIBU and irresponsible to quit without having something else lined up?

ilovesooty Mon 25-Jan-16 01:18:25

What are you going to live on for the next few weeks?

WhatsGoingOnEh Mon 25-Jan-16 01:21:29

AIBU and irresponsible to quit without having something else lined up

yes. at least was until the inheritance is actually in your bank account. start looking for new jobs tomorrow, before/after work and at lunchtime. do keep going to work.

givepeasachance Mon 25-Jan-16 01:27:35

Ok. You are right of course.

It's overwhelmingly bad but I gotta suck it up I guess.

I can always sleep but this thought / desire to quit has been keeping me up tonight.

whatdoIget Mon 25-Jan-16 01:54:41

Get another job first, then you can spend your inheritance on something nice/useful, or save if

whatdoIget Mon 25-Jan-16 01:54:55

Save it not if

figureofspeech Mon 25-Jan-16 02:39:00

It's easier to go from one job to another but I do understand it's difficult to stay when work is crap. I had a shit time at work and quit to become a stay at home parent.

Dust off your cv, apply for jobs and quit when you get a new one. Save the inheritance for a proper rainy day. Lock it away for a bit.

www.theguardian.com/careers

jobs.mumsnet.com/jobs/

hufflebottom Mon 25-Jan-16 03:12:16

Look for another job. See if you can start after a school holiday and maybe go away for a break between the 2 jobs

But I wouldn't say quit without something else as you may find you're still looking for something a year down the line.