To call into work sick due to complete exhaustion?

(11 Posts)
Marsaday Wed 09-Dec-15 06:39:51

I am 32 weeks pregnant and suffering from pregnancy insomnia. I have averaged 4 hours sleep a night for the last month or so, and I am just utterly exhausted. Today I have been awake since 4am.
I also have a toddler so get no rest at home. I am a teacher so once toddler is in bed I work until at least 10pm marking and planning. Work is hectic at the moment due to mock exams, reports due and the fact that I have to prepare everything to hand over my classes to new teacher next friday when my maternity leave begins. Therefore taking it a bit easy at work also not an option.
It's lucky that I get a lift to work really, as I'm so tired I don't think I would actually be safe to drive.
WIBU to call in sick because I'm just completely done in and need to rest? We have to give a detailed reason for absence btw, saying "I'm ill" is not enough.

GreatFuckability Wed 09-Dec-15 06:46:16

Yanbu. Id take the day to catch up on sleep.

ArmchairTraveller Wed 09-Dec-15 06:48:13

I think it's a good idea, especially if you are prepared to be in email contact with your handover teacher in the New Year to do any tidying up necessary.
You are exhausted, you would be barely functioning at work and it's not good for you, the baby or your toddler.
Sleep, and call in favours for the next few weeks so that someone can tire out the toddler for you and feed it. And dump the guilt that's keeping you staggering along when you should be unconscious and under a duvet.

PresidentUnderwood Wed 09-Dec-15 06:54:38

Call in sick, get your marking and prep done by all means but do try and have 40 winks.

Take care, we all know pregnancy isn't an illness hmm but it's bloody hard work especially with another small DC about flowers

Champagneformyrealfriends Wed 09-Dec-15 06:59:07