to think that DP should actually articulate his needs better?

(8 Posts)
MammaTJ Wed 03-Jun-15 21:46:55

He is giving up smoking! I am so happy, his uncle, who he is a carbon copy of dies of COPD a couple of years ago, this gave him a wake up call and he tried and succeeded in giving up then.

Recently he is trying again. I am a student nurse. I leave him to deal with his patches on his own, I do not want to add pressure/interfere.

I spotted a bright red mark on his arm the other day. I told him as a nurse I would not be happy to re-patch someone with that reaction and he should get advice. He did not appear to take much notice at the time saying 'Shall I stop giving up then?'. I reiterated that he should get better advice.

He seems to have done that, texting me this morning to say the stop smoking nurse was going to drop some different patches through the door.

He has come home tonight and is bordering abusive! He is speaking to the DC and myself in ways that are not acceptable. Not a problem as I counter him on all of it! I am not cowed by him as things stand (although I do see how it happens). I asked him why he is like this (so unlike his usual self) and he tells me he had not had a patch on since I expressed concerns.

If he had told me this, I would have put myself out, got on the bus to his work, to take his new patches to him. As it is, when he got home from work it was too late. They are 24 hour patches that have to be started in the morning. If he had only told me he was without then I would have rushed them to him.

Also, during skint times, I would be working out what we had, and what we needed and he would never put baccy in to the mix, then announce a few days in that he needed some, messing up the budget totally!

AIBU in thinking he should communicate what he needs/wants a little better then life would be easier for all of us?

MammaTJ Wed 03-Jun-15 21:48:06

I meant succeeded in giving up for a short while then*