AIBU to feel arsey with people who think it's funny that I've taken a job in a chip shop?

(51 Posts)
Caff2 Tue 24-Jun-14 20:54:36

Before I lost my job, I was a teacher, latterly on the SMT at the school.

Lost my job, money's very tight, and I have been offered a job weekends and evenings in a chippy - great, earn enough to contribute to all bills and no childcare costs.

I am losing count of the people who are making sarcy comments. sad

They are idiots. Good luck with the new job smile

HoneyBooBooChild Tue 24-Jun-14 20:56:32

Tell them to fuck off! Would they rather you sat on your arse claiming off the government? Good on you!

MsVestibule Tue 24-Jun-14 20:56:54

What sort of comments are people making? The smell? Or do they seem to think the job is beneath you?

BlackeyedSusan Tue 24-Jun-14 20:57:09

chip shop after teaching. sounds wonderful. anything but teaching

NinetyNinePercentTroll Tue 24-Jun-14 20:57:16

They are twats. Congratulations on your job, I hope it goes well.

CoffeeTea103 Tue 24-Jun-14 20:57:23

Yanbu, you're making an honest living, what is funny about that. I would tell them just that, it's rude.

Wolfiefan Tue 24-Jun-14 20:57:24

Resigned from teaching. I'd happily do a similar job. Sounds good. I'd just be glad you are working.
Perhaps reply that if they'd like to pay your rent/mortgage then you will spend your days doing something else!

jeanmiguelfangio Tue 24-Jun-14 20:57:59

Sounds great to me, good luck in your new job

Nomama Tue 24-Jun-14 20:58:32

Oh, don't get a chip on your shoulder.
Stand up for yourself, don't take a battering.
Are they rubbing salt into the wound?
You need to return with some suitably vinegary comments yourself.

Only codding...

Tell them to sod off!

Melonbreath Tue 24-Jun-14 20:58:49

Twats.
Tell them no free chips for you then.

AnotherFurry Tue 24-Jun-14 20:59:48

Good for you. Ignore them as they are clearly idiots.