To think women working in construction may not be taken seriously

(24 Posts)
dashoflime78 Mon 12-May-14 21:50:36

More of a straw poll sort of question....

Would you trust a female landscaper/ construction worker? Say you wanted a new driveway or some hard landscaping in your garden and a woman arrived to quote on the work what would you think?

Burren Mon 12-May-14 21:56:16

The possession of a vagina doesn't make anyone less trustworthy, or less likely to be able to put in a driveway or a rockery.

Normalisavariantofcrazy Mon 12-May-14 21:58:49

Wouldn't bother me.

I'd assume they may need to employ some extra workers or need more machinery based on lack of comparative muscle mass if it were a landscape gardener or someone putting fencing etc up but otherwise as long as the jobs done well at a good price rock on

wonkylegs Mon 12-May-14 22:02:57

I am a female construction professional (architect) and know many female tradespeople including my former plumber MIL.
Some people prefer female trades as they are less intimidated by them, feel happier letting them into their homes (esp the elderly & other women) and find them easier to talk to. My MIL was never short of clients when she was working.
Personally I employ people due to their capabilities and personality rather than their gender.

wobblyweebles Tue 13-May-14 02:16:36

Dh works in construction with plenty of women.

If they were any good of course i'd hire them.

HelenHen Tue 13-May-14 02:35:05

I worked in construction for years. I never felt like women weren't taken seriously... And I never came across a woman on site who didn't seem capable. They all took their jobs very seriously, perhaps because of stereotypes! So I would have absolutely no problem and may even prefer a woman.

SteveBrucesNose Tue 13-May-14 03:15:49

I'm in construction and do lots of estimating and pricing. Even worse for the perception of trust in women - I live and work in the Middle East

Never once had an issue.