to feel a bit upset at nurse's comment

(73 Posts)
almostheadgirl Thu 06-Mar-14 22:01:25

It would be great to get your perspective on this as I admit I may have been over-sensitive.
Joined a new GP practice this week. The nurse did all the usual checks, BP, height, urine etc - then she asks me to pop on the scales. No problem...Now, I have been working hard at losing the baby weight, am finally very happy with my size and consider myself to be reasonably 'back to normal' (ish!). I'm almost 5ft 9 and weigh 10 stone. She looks at the scales and goes "Hmmmm, not bad."
I felt quite upset. I said to her, I am almost 5ft 9... and she just smiled. It just struck me as a bit insensitive. I don't think I'm in any way over weight?! Is it just me being sleep deprived and pathetic to feel a bit insulted by this?

SpinningFates Fri 07-Mar-14 22:34:07

QOF points.

BarbarianMum Fri 07-Mar-14 22:27:40

Then why weigh them?

SpinningFates Fri 07-Mar-14 21:06:04

I'm a nurse. I don't think that it is necessary to comment on a patient's weight.

almostheadgirl Fri 07-Mar-14 20:32:48

Thanks coumartin, that's very kind.

Coumarin Fri 07-Mar-14 20:30:36

If anything maybe she was expecting your weight to be under and was pleased it was in the healthy range. I really don't think she meant anything by it at all. In that profession if she had any concerns whatsoever she would come straight out with them. Ime nurses don't beat about the bush.

Hope you feel better tomorrow and manage to get some rest. thanks

almostheadgirl Fri 07-Mar-14 20:25:53