to ask if you were going on a first date with a solicitor in his 50s (OD of course) what would be good topics of conversation?

(62 Posts)
EllenNotHelen Wed 06-Nov-13 00:34:15

Haven't had date for ages and now I'm about to see this solicitor and I'm getting nervous. We've done the messaging thing and lots of amusing banter, but feeling he might think I'm a bit dim and boring (I'm not, just my insecurities) so thought if I had a few conversation pieces in mind it might help.

<< slopes off feeling sad a pathetic blush >>

KerwhizzedMyself Wed 06-Nov-13 00:37:46

I am useless too so can't help but your username made me smile grin I had a friend called Ellen as a child and whenever we met new people we'd always have the ITS ELLEN NOT HELEN moment haha!

littleoaktree Wed 06-Nov-13 00:44:43

I'm a solicitor and I know plenty of dim and boring solicitors so you might be a good match wink

Joking aside, I'd have thought the same topics as you would use for any first date, there's certainly no magic about solicitors grin

If you do want to ask stuff related to his job then most solicitors have a few stories of nightmare clients/funny cases etc, what area of law is he in?

EllenNotHelen Wed 06-Nov-13 00:50:27

Not sure little. He's mentioned having to go out at short notice sometimes, not sure if that gives any clues.

Caitlin17 Wed 06-Nov-13 00:57:26

I'm a solicitor in my fifties.
We're just like anyone else really.

What would you talk about with any other friends?

Going out at short notice suggests criminal law rather than civil.

The Rebekah Brooks/Coulson trial and Leveson Inquiry. Lots of stuff on Guardian Comment Is Free (opinion columns).
Tv shows he enjoys and whether legal ones are compelling if you're a lawyer.
What was he good/bad at at school.
And the usual: music, favourite food and wine, holidays...

BOF Wed 06-Nov-13 00:59:22

Honestly, just leave it and go with the flow. It's not a job interview.

Gossipyfishwife Wed 06-Nov-13 01:00:49