to ask house viewers to remove shoes before going upstairs?!

(215 Posts)
HollieHelen Wed 18-Sep-13 09:43:36

I am really new to this as have never sold a house before. We are having the first estate agent round today to value our house, and then I want to get it on the market as soon as. Just thinking ahead to viewings ... would it sound awful to ask prospective buyers to take their shoes off before going upstairs?! It's bound to be terrible weather when they view and muddy etc. We have beige carpet ... fairly forgiving but does show marks. As a family we do no shoes upstairs but I know that might not be fair on visitors!!

JanuaryTwenty Fri 20-Sep-13 14:46:46

YANBU, HollieHelen. I used to work in an estate agency, and I lost count of the number of sellers who had their carpets and wooden floors ruined by inconsiderate viewers with muddy/oily shoes or high heels. It's your private space and if someone won't take off their shoes, it's their loss if they are really interested in buying.

Helliebean....you insist on keeping your shoes on. Is your own vanity really more important than respecting someone else's property?

exoticfruits Fri 20-Sep-13 08:35:40

That is my thought geekgal, I would have thought that people would have preferred a pair of clean sandals to bare feet. The majority of people have shoes on bare feet in the summer- women do - if not men.

geekgal Fri 20-Sep-13 07:38:47

I think I would be hesitant to ask people to remove shoes if they have no socks on, I don't even walk around my house with bare feet! And other people's sweaty feet kind of squick me out. But like I said earlier I wouldn't ask anyone to remove their shoes in my house anyway...

exoticfruits Fri 20-Sep-13 07:11:40

I am still smiling at the thought of a New Year's Eve party - all dressed up with slippers!
People still haven't said what they do about bare feet- there seems to be an assumption on socks or tights.

123rd Thu 19-Sep-13 23:51:03