My mother put my DD in care of a total stranger

(154 Posts)
Noodle1963 Tue 10-Sep-13 13:34:08

Ok I am new to this, but feel I have to get this off my chest. 1st August first day of annual child care 2 DD's with parents whilst I am at work (in the same town). DD2 and mother came to place of work and I asked where DD1 was, mother replied she has gone off with Lucy and her parents. Who I asked are Lucy's Parents? They are the the daughter and sil of my neighbour. Where has DD2 gone? and do you have a phone number? I don't know and no I have no phone number. As this point my mother stormed out of my workplace saying I can never do anything right. I had to inform my boss that I needed to find out where and who my DD was with, so locked the shop (in a state of panic) and went to see the neighbour, she gave me contact details of her daughter and I was able to phone and find out what was happening myself.

I went to pick my kids up after work and was then told to P--S off and get out of our lives by my Mum and Dad in front of my kids!

I was then in a state of shock and had to find alternative child care for the next 6 weeks of the holiday. My mother has not spoken to me since but has tried to contact my kids, I told her I want an apology for the kids and for me and the phone was then put down on me.

All this because I was concerned about my child.

Inertia Tue 10-Sep-13 13:38:48

Your parents sound irresponsible and a bit unhinged.

DesperatelySeekingSedatives Tue 10-Sep-13 13:40:07

Do you know these people at all? I'd be very pissed off too. Your mum (and dad?) left your child with someone you do not know, no contact details were swapped and she had no idea where they would be. I'm sure nothing would have happened but surely the more responsible thing to would be to have told you "DD really hit it off with so and so. Here is the mums phone number so you can invite the kid round to play one day if you like" or something.

You're not the unreasonable one here.