to be fuming with dh over this?

(46 Posts)
tugamommy Mon 26-Aug-13 21:45:16

We're on holiday and drove almost 2h to visit a town. I didn't really want to go as o don't like driving that long but dh sulks when he doesn't get his way so I agreed. There's us, the dc and the pil so we had 2 cars, I was driving one dh the other.

On the way there dh was in front. He was doing 90-110kmph in the motorway, which I think is too slow and made the journey painfully long but fine, better too slow than too fast. On the way back I was in front and doing 120-130, closer to 120 most of the time (this is the limit here btw). 10min in dh overtook me and slowed.down to 100-110kmph, below 90kmph at times. I really assumed he was just distracted.and unaware of his speed or mine but he later said he did it because I was driving too fast.

I'm so offended. I'm a really conscientious driver, always aware of speed likits and never going above, been driving for 20 years and never had an accident. Dh on the other hand used to be a really reckless driver when young and had a couple of serious accidents (one of them because he fell asleep when he.was already 34); never really aware of what the speed limit is. He's a good driver, but deep down doesn't think he needs.to really worry about rules iykwim.

So, iabu to be this mad?

bridgetsmum Mon 26-Aug-13 21:48:48

I think if you both knew where you were going, especially on the way back there was no need to convoy on the motorway. Could you just not have said you'd meet him at the destination.

Sirzy Mon 26-Aug-13 21:50:00

I would be annoyed to but that is why following another driver is never a good or safe idea much better to just agree to meet at the location.

But there again you said you never speed but then said " 120-130, closer to 120 most of the time (this is the limit here btw)" - so if the limit is 120 then you were speeding hmm

BonaDrag Mon 26-Aug-13 21:50:52

You were speeding.

gamerchick Mon 26-Aug-13 21:51:59