Would it bother you if your 8 - 10 year old none sailor was put on the sea in a sailing boat with no adult in boat?

(47 Posts)
ourlittlestreet Sat 24-Aug-13 00:06:52

Recently came back from a holiday, kids club also did water activities but was gearing up according to brochure for complete beginners, she has sen and i even checked this was ok for her to join in I told yes.

Anyway we had a couple of prior issues but mostly ok, dd had done wobble boarding and windsurfing and they had been in the swimming area in a shallow bit roped off surrounded by nannies and very safe with lots of instruction of how to use it. As the other activities had been done so safely I was not worried.

When they were taken onto the water three of them were put into a Pica boat and asked if they could sail, in the way children do one of the eight year olds said yes and so they were sent on the sea with no adult in the boat, this was in kids club so I wasn't there.

Within minutes they had span the boat round and capsized, not an issue and part of the fun of learning to sail. However several minutes later they went back out again and part of the sail which had not been fastened on properly by the adults had fell off meaning the children were stranded with no sail. They were hit by another boat of children (my daughter was hit in the face) the children were rescued by the rescue boat from the water (two of them crying) and taken back to shore.

I was made to feel that my expectations of adult in a boat on the sea (rather than a lake where i would not been as concerned) were too much. I ended up attending kids club with dd for rest of week because of the other issues too but am now wondering if I should have said more in feedback.

Where in the world is this? That would affect how I feel about it.

BlackBorderBinLiner Sat 24-Aug-13 00:11:27

YABU If not duffers they'll be fine....

ourlittlestreet Sat 24-Aug-13 00:12:10