Note: Please bear in mind that whilst this topic does canvass opinions, it is not a fight club. You may disagree with other posters but we do ask you please to stick to our Talk Guidelines and to be civil. We don't allow personal attacks or troll-hunting. Do please report any. Thanks, MNHQ.

To think Educating Yorkshire is a really bad idea?

(79 Posts)
GetStuffezd Tue 20-Aug-13 14:06:57

So, here's the trailer.
m.youtube.com/watch?v=8NQGPVv1wDU
It's basically showing the workings of a Yorkshire secondary school from day to day, going into classes and following certain teachers and pupils - from what I can gather anyway.
Is it just me who thinks it's a really bad idea? For parents, I can't imagine film crews in classes, encouraging children to "perform" is a popular idea. And as a teacher I would rather die than have my lessons disrupted with all that hassle. Maybe I'm being miserable but the whole thing seems a crazy idea to me, and possibly a massive ego trip on the part of the new Head.

Plus that teacher with the beard and messy hair irritated me after about 0.6 seconds.

I thought you were going to say that kids from Yorkshire didn't deserve to go to school hmm

I agree btw, I think it must be quite awkward for the teachers and chikdren.

ilovesooty Tue 20-Aug-13 14:10:35

The HT felt it would be beneficial and the article I read indicated that the pupils found it a positive experience. You can't compell anyone to be on TV if they don't want to.
I'll reserve judgment until I've seen it.

ilovesooty Tue 20-Aug-13 14:11:23

Very few pupils chose to opt out.

PrincessFlirtyPants Tue 20-Aug-13 14:12:09

They have done this previously in a show called 'Educating Essex'

GetStuffezd Tue 20-Aug-13 14:13:14

Well why would the pupils opt out? Chance to be on telly, get yourself noticed! I agree about reserving judgement though and I will give it a go.

GetStuffezd Tue 20-Aug-13 14:13:51

Really, Princess? I must have missed that one!

BuskersCat Tue 20-Aug-13 14:15:39