To tell my neighbours to f*** off?

(24 Posts)
AnneNonimous Sun 31-Mar-13 10:25:23

I have lived in my flat for 2 months with DS. It is my first time living away from home and I have suffered with anxiety my whole life so it has been quite difficult but overall going well. But I am aware that my anxiety can make me extra sensitive to situations so I am probably overreacting by being a bit upset.

DS (1yo) is a good baby, really he is. He makes noise day to day as all baby's too but he isn't much of a cryer. He also sleeps through well. Last night he woke up once at 9pm crying - I think he's teething. I went in to get him after literally 3 seconds of him crying and heard my neighbours banging on the wall. My instinct was to bang back and tell them to f* off but I didn't as I don't actually know who lives there yet. But actually I found it a bit upsetting and a bit invasive.

Aibu to think they were being ridiculous?

Tailtwister Sun 31-Mar-13 10:28:16

YANBU, they shouldn't be banging on the wall. It is rude, invasive and aggressive.

It sounds like your DS doesn't make much avoidable noise. Unfortunately crying is just a fact of life with children and there's very little you can do about that.

I wouldn't be aggressive back as that's unlikely to get you anywhere and might make the problem worse. Do you feel comfortable going round to speak to them?

RainbowsFriend Sun 31-Mar-13 10:28:45

Baby noise is part of life and as long as you're not leaving him to cry then they are being unreasonable.

You would be unreasonable to tell them to F off though. How about having a conversation with them next time you see them - they may have just been having a bad night themselves?

saycheeeeeese Sun 31-Mar-13 10:29:45

Yes they were YANBU. Is it housing association or privately rented?

If HA make a complaint about them . Most normal people understand that babies cry so they sound pretty nasty to me.

HildaOgden Sun 31-Mar-13 10:29:51