To be annoyed at being accosted in Sainsbury's to buy a Red Noise Day Charity ticket by a member of staff?

(12 Posts)
MinimalistMommi Sat 16-Feb-13 19:51:05

Gazpacho I realise that they've been told to do it as I used to work in retail when I was at university, I just think its a bit much inside a supermarket. In our town there are a lot of charity workers on the street so it feels like getting hassled a lot. Ad the guilt trip, because I wish I could do more but, like for a lot of people at the moment, money is tight so I do what I can where I can. I hate seeing the charity adverts on TV as it makes me feel so guilty. We're so lucky in the UK with stuff we take for granted like clean water etc.

SpecialSubject that's shocking!

GazpachoSoup Sat 16-Feb-13 19:10:58

YABU. Just say, "no thank you," or "I've already bought one" even if you haven't
Why the guilt trip? You said yourself that you're buying one closer to the day anyway. So it;s not like you're not buying one at all, is it?!
From their point of view, they've probably been told by annoying management type people that they have to try and foist one of the nozzles on every poor sucker who comes through the door.
Like all the charity chugger type people, just say NO if you don't want to! smile

WhatsTheBuzz Sat 16-Feb-13 18:28:15

I would say yabu, a) they'll have been told to do it and b) good on them,
someone's got to do it. People automatically say 'no' to stuff like
this which I think is a shame.

Tailtwister Sat 16-Feb-13 18:17:22

YANBU. I always feel awkward when I have to say no and think you should be able to do your food shopping without being accosted for charity donations. We give regular donations to our chosen charities by direct debit, but even then they are constantly calling up to ask us to increase our donations. It's getting out of hand.

specialsubject Sat 16-Feb-13 18:13:12

'no thanks' is a perfectly reasonable response.