To set you all a challenge?

(43 Posts)
FeltOverlooked Wed 30-Jan-13 14:30:22

I work in a school.

Every day we get complaints, moans and concerns expressed from the parents. Some of these are fair enough - lost gloves, wrong reading books, confusing communication. Some are less so.

But what we barely ever seem to get is any thanks or nice comments.

Can I challenge you all, for the next couple of weeks, that if something nice happens at school you SAY SO! Drop a note in the contact book, send an email, say it in the line...

I have sent an appreciative email to my DD's school today, as they had an external workshop group in yesterday and she loved it. I have already heard back from the teacher who ran it, saying how thrilled she was to be thanked.

Go on, give it a go.

If they don't do anything worth thanking, so be it, but if they do - please, just try saying so.

FeltOverlooked Fri 01-Feb-13 18:49:46

babybarrister - yes, you are right. I set a limited challenge but it could be opened to the whole service world.

munchkins - aaaawwwwww...

MunchkinsMumof2 Fri 01-Feb-13 16:06:00

My ds's teachers know not to open their thank you letters from us during school hours as they make them cry as we are so grateful for everything they've done for our ds (sen)

babybarrister Fri 01-Feb-13 15:57:58

Isn't this the same with all 'service' industries - people rarely bother to pass on compliments ...

FeltOverlooked Fri 01-Feb-13 14:09:49

Yorkshire Deb and others, I do know what you mean about school trips.

The teacher I sent thanks about the external workshop approached me today to say how thrilled she was. She has sent my email on to the team that came in to do it. smile

deXavia, I am pleased your son is getting what he needs now. Poor wee boy.

YorkshireDeb Fri 01-Feb-13 06:23:33

Good point about the school trip mosschops. I can take 30 kids away for a weeks residential & be lucky to get one thank you. It is so lovely when you do get one. X