To avoid going out

(17 Posts)
ILiveInAPineapple Thu 06-Dec-12 14:36:59

My ds came down with chickenpox last night.
I am a teacher and had nothing at home to set cover work with, and my dh could not get out of work today, so I went into school at 6am to set cover for my classes today.

A work colleague called to see how my ds was, and in passing she thinks I am being over cautious - I went into school really early so I could get back for my dh to leave for work, but she told me I should have jut brought my ds into work to set cover and then I wouldn't have had to get up so early.

The cleaner who cleans my lab is having chemo, and there are also several pregnant staff in school. I'm already feeling dreadful because my mum is immunosuppressed and has had to go for immunoglobulin injections as she saw ds at the weekend.
My friend thinks I am over sensitive about exposing people because of my mum, and that chickenpox is all around so it's fine to come into work to set cover/ go to tesco/ Christmas shopping (yes, she actually suggested that!).

So AIBU / over cautious?

PurplePidjChickIsNotTheMessiah Thu 06-Dec-12 14:41:22

Yanbu. Much better to risk over-caution than endanger another person smile

SugaricePlumFairy Thu 06-Dec-12 14:41:53

Your colleague is being silly.

I wouldn't take a poorly child out to mix with other people and spread the virus.

You were very considerate, professional and did the right thing. smile

ILiveInAPineapple Thu 06-Dec-12 15:03:54

Glad you think I'm not being over cautious, I hate being stuck in but can't see any other reasonable solution!

NatashaBee Thu 06-Dec-12 15:20:47

YANBU. I remember seeing a thread on here where someone had a child with permanent brain damage after having chicken pox.

Likesshinythings Thu 06-Dec-12 15:29:45