Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Pretty sure I'm intolerant to dairy - please could someone answer a few questions?

(10 Posts)

I generally don't eat meat, but do eat fish. I also can't have caffeine or alcohol... so my choice of hot/adult drinks is somewhat limited.

Can anyone recommend a good cookbook (or two) for baking & general recipes? I'm a pretty competent cook, fairly adventurous with what I'll eat. I don't have time for complicated recipes unless I can do a batch & freeze it. especially if it's cake, I'm already missing cake

I was a butter girl until recently & knowing what I do about margarine, I'm loathe to start with a dairy-free marg, what do you use when you want spread on your bread? Should I just learn to live without?

Are there any milks available that don't curdle when added to tea & coffee?
TIA

Hopeful bump.

anotherdayanothersquabble Sun 17-May-15 16:32:24

Deliciously Ella, Hemsley and Hemsley, Gwyneth Palthrow, Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall's latest are all low / no dairy but also low grain so while very good, perhaps not quite what you are after but great books!!

Thanks, will have a look in the library before committing to buying anything.

anotherdayanothersquabble Sun 17-May-15 20:50:53

Ella and Hemsley and Hemsley have good websites. And to be honest, if you have dairy issues, chances are you are better without wheat and sugar too!!

I know but it makes everything so damned hard... (have known about the wheat thing for a while tbh, been living in denial.)

Oodear Tue 19-May-15 18:51:57

I'm a butter addict and have found Pure Sunflower the best spread.

Thanks. Have caved & sent DH for some as we're having mash tomorrow. Didn't fancy coconut milk in it!

superoz Tue 19-May-15 23:44:59

We use Pure Sunflower, it's pretty easy to substitute it in place of butter in your usual recipes.