What books should I ask for for Christmas?

(23 Posts)
OooWhatToDo Thu 14-Nov-13 21:51:37

I love reading but don't usually buy myself books unless I spot a good one in the charity shop, but I do like getting some new books for Christmas!

I've loved Harry Potter since I was a kid, I also like authors like Dorothy Koomson, James Herbert, Gillian Flynn, Stephen King. I'm not too good at heavy books like the girl with the dragon tattoo though, I tried my hardest with that but found it really hard work.

So can anyone recommend me some good, interesting books that I might like?

riskit4abiskit Thu 14-Nov-13 22:16:46

The new Stephen King that is a sequel to the shining?

Have you read Jonathan strange and dr norrell, its great.

The historian is a modern dracula story that is very good without being gory. Very atmospheric.

CoteDAzur Fri 15-Nov-13 16:39:56

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell is indeed brilliant.

Alternatively, ask for a Kindle smile

Yes to, 'Doctor Sleep.'

CoteDAzur Fri 15-Nov-13 19:18:27

Remus - I have a historical fiction book for you smile Remember I asked if you had another book like This Thing Of Darkness? Well, I found one: Measuring The World - Danel Kehlmann.

Sorry for thread derail, OP.

Ooh - Have you finished it? Will google immediately. Tell me more.

Ooh yes - that looks right up my street, and has the added benefit of a character named Humboldt! Cheers. smile

CoteDAzur Fri 15-Nov-13 19:32:20

I finished it, really sad the last couple of hours because it was coming to an end. Now I started Dr Sleep because any "serious" book that comes after this one will surely be a disappointment.

I loved loved LOVED it. Read & let me know what you think.

CoteDAzur Fri 15-Nov-13 19:33:59

I hadn't heard of Humboldt before reading this book, but of course everyone knows of the legendary mathematician Gauss. I wish I were you now, still to read this book for the first time envy

I know nothing of legendary mathematicians, I assure you. smile