Recommendations for holiday kindle downloads please...

(18 Posts)
vaticancameo Wed 28-Aug-13 23:13:26

Right, off on holiday for a fortnight and planning on as much reading as two small dcs will let me get away with...so I'm after some recommendations. I don't like chick lit. I'm after gripping, modern literary fiction (I'm an English teacher, so pretty au fait with the classics). I loved The God of Small Things, Midnight's Children, Wolf Hall, The Children's Book and Never Let Me Go. I love everything by Jonathan Coe, Margaret Atwood and Simon Armitage, and most things by Ian McEwan. Not particularly keen on Donna Tartt or Martin Amis (I know I should be, but he just irritates me). I love historical fiction, especially Victorian- era onwards. Not into anything involving elves, goblins, hobbits or vampires.

What've you got to tempt me with?

Sam100 Wed 28-Aug-13 23:25:19

Have just read "gone girl" by Gillian Flynn. I would describe as a psychological thriller - I enjoyed it.

phoolani Wed 28-Aug-13 23:31:45

Gone Girl was great -and I don't normally read anything that popular! The book I've just finished was Fingersmith by Sarah Waters and I utterly loved it. Perfect holiday reading; complex without being dense and with a cracking pace and plot line. Oh, and it's historical! And Martin Amis just is irritating. You're absolutely right there.

Sam100 Wed 28-Aug-13 23:32:56

Other books I have enjoyed - "the street philosopher" by Matthew plampin. Victorian setting.

phoolani Wed 28-Aug-13 23:33:09

Am also in the middle of AM Holmes' May we be forgiven and really enjoying it so far.

vaticancameo Wed 28-Aug-13 23:38:29

Great, some samples to download! Yes, I enjoyed Fingersmith, phoolani. Have you read The Little Stranger? That was good, too.

artyanklet Wed 28-Aug-13 23:41:58

What about "Peaches for Monsieur Le Cure" I have started to read this book, it follows on from the film "Chocolat" - so far so good!

phoolani Wed 28-Aug-13 23:58:14