"the other typist" if you liked NOtes on a scandal you will like this

(25 Posts)
EliotNess Wed 10-Jul-13 07:46:06
BabeRuthless Wed 10-Jul-13 16:53:24

I've had this on order at the library for a few weeks now. Cannot wait to read it!

I hated Notes On A Scandal. Will I like this one anyway? Why?

EliotNess Wed 10-Jul-13 17:38:07

Well I haven't finished it yet. It's creepy. In a good way

Let me know. I need recs, but I have zero tolerance for either poor or self-indulgent writing these days.

EliotNess Wed 10-Jul-13 18:55:49

Larks. Have you done handsome brute ? Or the new Kate Atkinson ? (After recent bad form it's good )

Urgh - Have vowed never to read another Kate A. What is Handsome Brute?

EliotNess Wed 10-Jul-13 20:22:22

Ooh you're hard to please! It's non fix. But AMAZING

Ooh yes - that looks right up my street. smile

CheungFun Sun 21-Jul-13 14:54:18

Added to my list! I loved Notes on a Scandal, very creepy!

Southeastdweller Sun 21-Jul-13 15:20:52

Thanks, loved NOAS so this is going on my wishlist.

Cantdothisagain Sun 21-Jul-13 19:50:08

Thanks - looks good holiday reading!

LadyMilfordHaven Mon 22-Jul-13 22:28:44

oh i have loads more. dm me if oyu want my amazon list

LadyMilfordHaven Mon 22-Jul-13 22:28:58

( its me, the Op)

LadyMilfordHaven Mon 22-Jul-13 22:29:20

also apple tree yard - AY MAY ZING

emmelinelucas Mon 22-Jul-13 22:47:40

I have just ordered TOT, thanks for the recommendation OP.
Also "The Boy Who Could See Demons" by Carolyn Jess - Cooke,and "The Haunted Book" by Jeremy Dyson.

LadyMilfordHaven Mon 22-Jul-13 22:49:00

ooh ooh do apple tree - people on my TL on twitter LOVED it

BOF Mon 22-Jul-13 22:51:06

Yes, it was the best thing I've read for a while- loved that one.

BOF Mon 22-Jul-13 22:51:53

Oh, and another rec if you liked ^Notes On A Scandal^- try Tideline.

LadyMilfordHaven Mon 22-Jul-13 22:52:22

oh ta BOffy

BOF Mon 22-Jul-13 23:00:41

If you have the BBC radio iplayer app, you can listen to Louise Doughty being interviewed about Appletree Yard on Open Book, the 16th June broadcast.

LadyMilfordHaven Mon 22-Jul-13 23:05:10

thanks

Watching this thread to update my kindle before going on hols - thanks for all the recs, I loved Notes on a Scandal.

Capitola Wed 31-Jul-13 19:14:04

I loved Notes on a Scandal.

I must NOT buy any more books. I am about 4 book club titles behind and have the leaning book tower of unread books by my bed.

<Goes to order this on Amazon>.

Mrsrobertduvall Thu 08-Aug-13 15:05:41

Just finished it.....very good.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now