If you like Robin Hobb . . .

(19 Posts)
BigBadBob Mon 26-Nov-12 16:17:49

saintmerryweather - why would you read all seven books, some 4500 pages if you thought they weren't much good?

saintmerryweather Sun 25-Nov-12 22:38:05

i thought game of thrones was utter shit. did read them all but still...i wouldnt recommend them to anyone. also patrick rothfuss' first book was good but his second one was a complete let down, NOTHING happened and he totally rips off robert jordan. definately a book to borrow rather than buy.

fluffacloud Sun 25-Nov-12 22:32:42

Magician by Raymond E Feist - my all-time favourite book.

In fact I'm halfway through reading it at the moment for the billionth time grin

SoupDragon Sun 25-Nov-12 22:25:54

I hipe you do like it - I can't work out why I like it so much but it is one of the few books I am happy to re-read again and again. You'll probably hate it grin

Takver Sun 25-Nov-12 21:21:48

Doing very well here - have added a copy of the Chronicles of Morgaine, Soupdragon, I think if DH doesn't like it, I will. Out of print is fine, we always do second hand books so they will all come from Abebooks anyway (so far have 6 in my basket, half for DD and half for DH, total cost £15 smile )

BigBadBob Sun 25-Nov-12 21:02:54

I read Assassins Apprentice after a recommendation on here. I thought it was good, albeit a bit slow. I looked on Amazon to see the reviews for the second book and found a link to Game of Thrones. Currently waiting for book 4 to arrive on Tuesday. Assassins Apprentice now seems dull by comparison. They're definitely adult books, but there's not a huge amount of voilence in them.

Takver Sun 25-Nov-12 21:01:39

OK, so I think I will definitely get him a copy of The City & The City, I've thought before that he would probably like it.

Does Trudi Canavan write young adult novels as well? I remember being recommended her novels for DD - don't want to get DH something that will get swiped before he's had a chance to read it . . .

I second the Patrick Rothfuss recommendation, really enjoyed those this year.

Also - as I always do when somebody asks for fantasy suggestions - I'm going to plug Guy Gavriel Kay.

Have you tried www.literature-map.com/robin+hobb.html - love this site it's great fun smile

alexrider Sun 25-Nov-12 18:40:45

Anything by Trudi Canavan.

Jellymane Sun 25-Nov-12 18:39:40

Try 'The Name of the Wind' by Patrick Rothfuss. The sequel is also out and I'm hoping the next one will be out soon!

BRANdishingMistletoe Sun 25-Nov-12 18:21:51

I really liked The City and The City, which is the only one I have read so far. Perdido Street Station is on my to-be-read-soonish list.

Takver Sun 25-Nov-12 18:01:32

China Mieville is a very good idea, remember reading reviews of his books and meaning to check them out, I reckon they might be right up DH's street. Any particular ones you'd recommend?

VivaLeBeaver Sun 25-Nov-12 17:53:46

Game of Thrones is more violent than Assassin's apprentice series.

BRANdishingMistletoe Sun 25-Nov-12 17:52:44

How about China Mieville? Or The City Trilogy by Darren Shan (the series is for adults, not kids), Procession of the Dead is the first one.

Takver Sun 25-Nov-12 17:46:53

Is Game of Thrones very violent? I think Robin Hobb teeters on the edge of how dark/violent DH is up for at the moment

Will check out Chronicles of Morgaine & Mistborn

SoupDragon Sun 25-Nov-12 17:43:27

I only read the first one of Game of Thrones. It was OK but didn't grip me. Not sure why.

Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series was enjoyable.

SoupDragon Sun 25-Nov-12 17:42:10

I adored The Chronicles of Morgaine by CJ Cherryh. Not sure if it's in print any more though.

Hmmm... what else have I devoured... my mind has gone blank! There have been numerous threads on this very subject though.

I shall go away and ponder...

VivaLeBeaver Sun 25-Nov-12 17:39:39

Game of Thrones?

Takver Sun 25-Nov-12 17:38:45

what else do you like? Looking for some new possibilities for DH for Christmas smile

He likes Robin Hobb, also happily reads my Anne McCaffrey, Marion Zimmer Bradley, but doesn't like Mercedes Lackey or Neil Gaiman. Other books he's liked: Neuromancer et al, Snow Crash (but not Cryptonomicon), various more 'hard' sci-fi stuff - but I think something lighter / fantasy more likely to appeal at Christmas time.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now