If you loved Cloud Atlas...

(31 Posts)
maillotjaune Tue 16-Oct-12 08:01:34

...would you recommend any of David Mitchell's other books?

Finished Cloud Atlas last night and very unusually I feel like going back to the beginning and reading it all over again. I won't yet as I have a kindle full of stuff to be read.

I am vaguely aware of fairly strong opinions about Mitchell, good and bad, on MN but wondered what you might recommend.

Puppypanic Fri 09-Nov-12 19:21:10

I loved Cloud Atlas and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, not so keen on Black Swan Green - bit too ordinary.

Doesn't number9 dream contain a nasty pyschopathic scene? That put me off I must say but if it hasn't I will read that too.

Have got This Thing of Darkness on my Christmas list, looks fab!

Ruffello Wed 07-Nov-12 17:22:14

I loved Cloud Atlas, and like others have said, Cote's analysis really helped! I'm now listening to the audiobook of Ghostwritten and am struggling to be honest. It's similar to Cloud Atlas in that it's a collection of separate stories with interlinked themes and characters, but am just not really getting it. Is it worth persevering?

Ilovemyteddy Wed 31-Oct-12 21:00:00

Cloud Atlas and This Thing of Darkness are two of my favourite books. Cote I've just read your analysis of Cloud Atlas and I am in awe! What I loved about it was that it was an experience reading it. A lot of the detail didn't stay with me, but the excitement of discovering such a marvellous book was wonderful.

For novels based in Japan I would recommend David Peace's Tokyo Year Zero. Very dark and atmospheric.

maillotjaune Mon 29-Oct-12 22:02:07

This Thing of Darkness is indeed amazing and I thank you for the recommendation smile

mattblissett Mon 29-Oct-12 16:37:32

No9 Dream is lovely, like a fever dream in print and it has a very oriental set of iconography to it. I am halfway through Cloud Atlas, and taking a brief diversion before returning to it again.

CoteDAzur Tue 23-Oct-12 13:32:42

I'm just looking forward to the day when you will actually read it and I'll get to say "I told you so" smile

Oh and I've just read 'The Martian Chronicles' by Ray Bradbury. An easy read and the first third or so isn't great but then I really rather enjoyed it. A bit depressing though!

rec not red

I'm currently enjoying 'Black Swan Green' though at risk of winding up Cote, I have still failed to finish 'Cloud Atlas' which I find a bit show-offy and irritating.

'This Thing Of Darkness' is amazing and I envy anybody yet to read it.

Another one I like to red on threads such as this is, 'A Heartbreaking Work Of Staggering Genius' which I have read twice and thoroughly enjoyed both times.

CoteDAzur Tue 23-Oct-12 11:11:27

1984 is highly unlikely to lift the dark clouds of gloom grin

maillotjaune Mon 22-Oct-12 08:58:21

Well I have read Fahrenheit 451 and The Handmaid's Tale since finishing Cloud Atlas and am feeling very gloomy. Had been thinking of revisiting 1984 having found my old copy in pieces after tidying some shelves last week but I think I need to find something a bit lighter first.

Asmywhimsytakesme Sun 21-Oct-12 13:13:05

Loved it too smile

Jux Sun 21-Oct-12 13:01:23

I have This Thing of Darkness in my pile of What to Read Next!

DD has, however, asked me to read Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. They have a 'special reading group' led by the HT at school, and this is the current book. I'm finding it a bit hard going, tbh.

Then I can go back to Black Swan Green, which I had to leave half way through (the sacrifices one makes for one's kids!).

XiCi Sat 20-Oct-12 19:22:21

I loved ghostwritten. Preferred it to cloud atlas.

CoteDAzur Tue 16-Oct-12 20:24:37

Re "cleverness of Cloud Atlas" - If any of you are interested in reading some more clever speculative fiction, try Neal Stephenson's "Snow Crash" and "Diamond Age".

CoteDAzur Tue 16-Oct-12 20:21:40

You are all very welcome. It was my pleasure (literally) grin

Re what to read next: What I read after Cloud Atlas was another great book called This Thing Of Darkness that coincidentally carried on some of CA's themes. It is the true story of Charles Darwin's voyage aboard the survey brig Beagle for two years, charting then-unknown South American territories, visiting Australia, etc. I heartily recommend it.

I'd really love to have your thoughts on Cloud Atlas before I read it again, so do please post on that thread soon smile

The cleverness of Cloud Atlas intimidated me a fair bit. Until I though 'Imagine having to live with that kind of a mind? All the time?'
Then I felt better grin.

Must get Black Swan Green <<puts on list>>

Jux Tue 16-Oct-12 19:00:12

HullyGully, I think I know what you mean, but I found all that history of Japan so interesting, I couldn't put it down. I like his prose too, so it was a joy to read despite the contrivance of plot.

KeithLeMonde Tue 16-Oct-12 18:11:31

I liked Ghostwritten though I felt that and Cloud Atlas were rather samey.

Hullygully Tue 16-Oct-12 16:54:44

I wasn't nearly as impressed by Thousand Autumns, it felt contrived.

Like Ghostwritten, Black Swan Green

dotty2 Tue 16-Oct-12 10:27:53

I've liked all of his, but especially The Thousand Autumns. I thought Cloud Atlas was a little bit ostentatiously clever. They are all very different, though.

maillotjaune Tue 16-Oct-12 10:24:09

Have now read Cote's analysis (thank you Cote thanks) which was fantastic and really interesting as I'd been thinking along those lines as I was reading the book, but without Cote's ability to articulate my thoughts.

I'm still feeling blown away by Cloud Atlas and don't feel like reading anything else straight away. I might have a look at Farenheit 451 though - was that made into a film, I know the name but I'm pretty sure I haven't read it even in my dim and distant teens?

GreeenFingers Tue 16-Oct-12 09:32:53

Just taken 11 bags of books to charity shop. Cloud Atlas being amongst the 100+ books I sent. I can't remeber reading it, oh well the cat's protection league will no doubt benefit.

maillotjaune Tue 16-Oct-12 09:28:40

Thanks Jux, I saw Cote mention that on another thread but I'm mostly on here on the phone so it's hard to find old stuff.

Pacific- yes I'm sure I've seen people say some of his stuff is unreadable which is what prompted me to read it so I'm very grateful to them grin

Thanks for the recommendations.

Jux Tue 16-Oct-12 08:51:03

blushblush

I wasn't Cogito, I misremembered the name. it was Cote (massive apologies Cote!)

Anyway the thread is here. I printed off Cote's posts and reread, making notes all the way along, and then felt very embarrassed as I still had nothing to add to her discussion!

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now