If you loved Cloud Atlas...

(31 Posts)
maillotjaune Tue 16-Oct-12 08:01:34

...would you recommend any of David Mitchell's other books?

Finished Cloud Atlas last night and very unusually I feel like going back to the beginning and reading it all over again. I won't yet as I have a kindle full of stuff to be read.

I am vaguely aware of fairly strong opinions about Mitchell, good and bad, on MN but wondered what you might recommend.

CoteDAzur Tue 23-Oct-12 13:32:42

I'm just looking forward to the day when you will actually read it and I'll get to say "I told you so" smile

mattblissett Mon 29-Oct-12 16:37:32

No9 Dream is lovely, like a fever dream in print and it has a very oriental set of iconography to it. I am halfway through Cloud Atlas, and taking a brief diversion before returning to it again.

maillotjaune Mon 29-Oct-12 22:02:07

This Thing of Darkness is indeed amazing and I thank you for the recommendation smile

Ilovemyteddy Wed 31-Oct-12 21:00:00

Cloud Atlas and This Thing of Darkness are two of my favourite books. Cote I've just read your analysis of Cloud Atlas and I am in awe! What I loved about it was that it was an experience reading it. A lot of the detail didn't stay with me, but the excitement of discovering such a marvellous book was wonderful.

For novels based in Japan I would recommend David Peace's Tokyo Year Zero. Very dark and atmospheric.

Ruffello Wed 07-Nov-12 17:22:14

I loved Cloud Atlas, and like others have said, Cote's analysis really helped! I'm now listening to the audiobook of Ghostwritten and am struggling to be honest. It's similar to Cloud Atlas in that it's a collection of separate stories with interlinked themes and characters, but am just not really getting it. Is it worth persevering?

Puppypanic Fri 09-Nov-12 19:21:10

I loved Cloud Atlas and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, not so keen on Black Swan Green - bit too ordinary.

Doesn't number9 dream contain a nasty pyschopathic scene? That put me off I must say but if it hasn't I will read that too.

Have got This Thing of Darkness on my Christmas list, looks fab!

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now