What to read after the kite runner?

(13 Posts)
janx Tue 02-Oct-12 22:18:49

Have just finished reading this and was so impressed.. Any recommendations to follow this? Everything I pick up seems flat in comparison

CuriosityCola Tue 02-Oct-12 22:21:07

I think I read Thousand splendid suns after the Kite Runner. Great books.

freelancescientist Tue 02-Oct-12 22:22:07

A Thousand Splendid Suns? That was his next book and I actually preferred it!

IslaMann Tue 02-Oct-12 22:22:30

A thousand splendid suns by the same author. I enjoyed this much more than kite runner- which I loved.

freelancescientist Tue 02-Oct-12 22:22:45

X post - looks like a unanimous decision for you!

duende Tue 02-Oct-12 22:23:31

One of my favourite books! I was gutted to find out that he hadn't written any other books at the time. I have since read thousand splenid suns and liked it, but not as much.

Not sure what to recommend, i had the same problem for ages -everything else seemed flat.

AViewfromtheFridge Tue 02-Oct-12 22:24:26

^^What they said.

One of those books that stays with you.

janx Tue 02-Oct-12 22:26:59

A thousand splendid suns it is....thankssmile

TheMysteryCat Tue 02-Oct-12 22:27:55

Snow by orhan pamuk after that, or any other pamuk novels. He's a much celebrated Turkish writer ( possibly Nobel literature prize winner) and his novels are beautifully visual and visceral.

I liked The Book Thief by Markus Ziusak
The Girls by Lori Lansesn

highlandcoo Tue 02-Oct-12 22:45:53

For anyone who loved A Thousand Splendid Suns, A Disobedient Girl by Ru Freeman is similar in theme and tone but better IMO. I met the author; she used to be a journalist campaigning for women's rights in Sri Lanka but decided writing fiction might portray important issues more effectively. It doesn't read as a political argument, however; instead it is the absorbing story of two little girls brought up in the same household, one the wealthy daughter and one a servant .. with very different lives ahead of them. I really recommend it.

CuriosityCola Wed 03-Oct-12 09:44:12

Great minds grin

I will be checking out the other suggestions made.

tripfiction Wed 03-Oct-12 14:51:44

Definitely a 1000 Splendid Suns, but Harmattan by Gavin WEston is relatively new and which is absolutely up there! Set in Niger

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now