Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on adoption.

Early placement - how much to mention FC

(12 Posts)
MyPreciousRing Mon 01-Jun-15 21:35:03

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

poorincashrichinlove Mon 01-Jun-15 21:43:11

Congratulations. I'm no expert in this arena & I'm sure some one who is far more experienced will come along soon. Although you're probably understandably anxious about getting it 'right' It does sound like your sensitive enough to your DS needs to intuitively know when it's appropriate to reinforce the love his FC have for him. There will be times that he needs that reassurance. These times are likely to become fewer and further apart over time. Wish you all the best

Cabawill Mon 01-Jun-15 21:46:26

This is a tough one as I'm sure it's so different for each child. Our DD (then 3) was placed with us on 1st Feb and had been with the same FC for almost 2 years so was very attached.

We skyped after a couple of weeks and they sent an Easter card and a birthday card. We allowed her to have a picture by her bed for the first month then slowly moved it to the shelf at the end of her bed, then top of wardrobe and now it's in a drawer.

She talked about them allll the time to start with. Literally every sentence. We did a mixture of engaging with it, changing the subject and once we had some memories of our own introducing those to her as she does get very confused about who she's done things with.

We were advised to meet up around 8 weeks in but I found it was just when we were forming a proper attachment with her so I postponed it until this last week- 15 weeks into placement. It was lovely and both the kids loved seeing them. I email them updates about every fortnight or so and when they email back I tell the kids that they've been asking after them- they like to think they are missed, bless them.

ALovelyTrain Mon 01-Jun-15 21:55:28

StaceyAndTracey Mon 01-Jun-15 22:00:29