Misguided views about adoption: I've had some, maybe because my experience with the care system.....

(42 Posts)
taffleee Wed 13-Nov-13 18:33:52

Okay, hands up, I'm very new to this site, and ventured into a thread about adoption (where I don't think I should have) and I have expressed my apologies for doing so. And I hope they accept my apologies also.

I have had some experience with the care system, I was 'thrown out' of my home (I came from a very wealthy family, but my mum left when I was 11, my dad moved in a 'new young girlfriend who didn't want children, hence, I was thrown out) - my brother was 5 years older, but the 'girlfriend' was quite close to his age, so no probs there, funny enough -

I went through some problems at school, mainly because I was left on my own at home whilst my Dad and his new girlfriend where on nights outs all the time, two week holidays from the Dominican republic to Mexico, and as my mum was nowhere to be seen, and my brother was so much older, and maybe because I was quite resilient, not a health care professional in sight, until I started 'missing school' - and then it came down to ' I have behaviour issues:

There was no looking into my neglect at home, merely it was me, my behaviour, which looking back now was so wrong

I was 'thrown' out at 14, into a 'childrens home' sleeping in a room with a girl who had doused her step dad in petrol meaning to set him alight - my horrific experiences with the care system only start there, but ever since I stepped one inch into the care system there was not a social worker in sight - not one, from horrific foster parents fostering because they wanted a 'conservatory', to ones where I had to wait until their son was asleep in a bed so they could move him to his sisters room, so I could sleep in his bed, only to wake and move me every morning before he woke up in the morning so they could move him back to 'his room' -