Newbies

(905 Posts)

Hi I am a newbie and only just started this journey, officially made the call last week.

Just interested how may other newbies are out there who are still in the early stages. I keep coming across people and recognising names. Anyone want to let on what stage they are at?

Pickles2go Tue 22-Apr-14 11:35:47

Hello keep, love and smoky. We are in stage 2 and hopefully going to panel in June.

We told referees when we were in stage 1 and most close family when we'd been accepted onto stage 2 and had also done the final day of training (which was only a couple of days later than our official acceptance). It was luck rather than judgement but in retrospect we actually found it really helpful to have completed the prep course because as much reading as we had done we were in a much much better place to answer any initial questions our loved ones had. We have also both told our line managers as work references are nec in stage 2.

As for telling anyone else I don't know how we will actually feel after panel, but at the moment I'm not planning on really telling anyone else (hoping that we get approved) until we are matched. But then both myself and DH are quite private anyway and also don't want to jinx anything!

Good luck - it's an exciting journey to be setting out on.

MrsM2509 Tue 22-Apr-14 07:46:13

We told our parents and closest friends just before we made our initial enquiry. We then told a few others as we started the assessment process.now, if were ever asked if we think we will have kids soon etc, we then tell people we are being assessed for adoption. So some people know, but not loads. As for Facebook I deleted mines when we started the assessment so can't comment on that, Lack of privacy on there is just too annoying, it's so easy for people to screenshot photos nowadays.

Good luck in your adoption journey, we are enjoying it so far and have panel in July so not long off

SmokyHeart Mon 21-Apr-14 23:23:41