Advice Needed: Getting Through Seminars

(16 Posts)
Fenwinkle Tue 22-Nov-16 10:49:42

I'm currently studying for a professional qualification at uni. I have a few modules and thoroughly enjoy all but one and I think it is down to the teaching method used in this one module.

It is a well structured topic with plenty of books, guides and other courses following this structure. My lecturer, however, likes to do things her way. This way just doesn't work for me (and most others) and I have tried for weeks now to follow it. I always end up doing the things she asks of me but then doubling my study time by going through a different university's weekly reading/tasks to make sure I understand - without this extra work, I wouldn't have a clue!

The lecturer turns everything into group work which is really unusual and not at all helpful for our discipline. It also means we spend a few hours trying to gather the group, dividing the work, etc and the majority of us commute in and have jobs too. She gives 5 times as much reading as other modules but none of it is targeted reading, it's all very broad and at the end of it, we're often no better off than before we started the reading once we get through it. If I follow a different university's weekly reading, though, it's very direct and I'm confident I've understood the topic. The trouble is, I then still need to do the weekly reading given to me in order to participate in the group and seminars.

Basically the whole group is struggling. Half of us are learning from another university's guide and the other half don't have the time to do both so are only doing the work given by the lecturer and don't understand the topic at all. We have exams soon and again in January.

What can we do? Is there a good way to handle this?

LRDtheFeministDragon Tue 22-Nov-16 19:47:03

If I were teaching that seminar, I'd want you to email me to explain you were having problems.