Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Family history shocker!

(68 Posts)
FoolishFay Thu 28-Aug-14 18:23:45

I've been researching my family for about 15 years but today I'm lost for words. My great great grandfather threw himself under a train at the turn of the century in his mid 60's. He and his wife had separated some 25 years beforehand. I found a number of newspaper reports suggesting a grim life of petty crime and general dissoluteness. But I have to admit I was gobsmacked to find at the age of 61 he was remanded to the Assizes for an 'unnatural act with a donkey'.

And even worse, he'd done 18 months hard labour 30 years previously for attempting it with a cow.

FoolishFay Thu 28-Aug-14 18:24:58

I could fill 2 whole episodes of 'Who do think you are?' on my own!

Shallishanti Thu 28-Aug-14 18:26:32

blimey
that is quite gobsmacking
am pondering the mechanics now

comfycushion Thu 28-Aug-14 18:26:36

Family trees are fun

MooseBeTimeForSpring Thu 28-Aug-14 18:28:24

Wow.
I'm sure I'm not the only one who would suggest a stepladder ..

Oakmaiden Thu 28-Aug-14 18:30:21

Wow!!!

Not exactly a pillar of the community then...

LittleBearPad Thu 28-Aug-14 18:30:27

shock grin

GimmeMySquash Thu 28-Aug-14 18:32:15

Blimey, what a shocker. Makes you wonder about all those Welch sheep jokes now.

MamadotheBUMP Thu 28-Aug-14 18:32:21

Wow!

Apparently someone in my family ran off with the circus and then used to live in a cave with a monkey... Okaaaayy...

Fragglewump Thu 28-Aug-14 18:32:58

Is that true? If so I'm a little jealous - my family tree is very dull by comparison!!!

MrsBungle Thu 28-Aug-14 18:33:36

Blimey!

Onesleeptillwembley Thu 28-Aug-14 18:35:18

Hee haw ays got a stiffy in a farmyard. It's not a moo sing.
Sorry, couldn't resist - pretty impressive story though, op. you could dine out on that for years. grin

shock

SaskiaRembrandtWasFramed Thu 28-Aug-14 18:39:36