Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

If you were nearly 3 hours late for work...

(44 Posts)
missknows Wed 30-Jul-14 13:06:07

What would the protocol be?

Not late through choice but through motorway being closed.
Office is usually open 8-6 and you work 8 hours a day.
Person usually works 8-4 but if they have doctors or whatever so need to leave early or arrive late they just make up the time whenever is convenient. (Company is nice and flexible)
Person is paid salary not hourly so not being paid for those hours isn't really possible.

Genuine question as I am a teacher so when this person asked what to do I didn't have an answer as I've never been in this situation.

Would you expect
a) the person to make up the hours (obviously not all today as that wouldn't be possible)?
b) to leave at normal time and not make up the hours?
c) make up some time but not the whole 3 hours?
d) something else?

If it makes a difference- person has never been late before and works on average 15 mins a day more than they need to.

Happy36 Wed 30-Jul-14 13:07:55

I'd expect them to make up all of the time asap. Working from home could count if that",'s part of the company's usual policy.

HortenMarket Wed 30-Jul-14 13:08:17

If it was something beyond their control then I wouldn't expect them to make up the hours. If it was me in that situation I would offer but if I was the boss I would let it go. Especially if they are always punctual. How can anyone help it if the road is closed.

Theselittlelightsofmine Wed 30-Jul-14 13:10:15

If they normally work over the hours then perhaps do nothing or make up the hours missed by working half hour longer over 6 days or last option give them an hour extra and call it evens.

NorwaySpruce Wed 30-Jul-14 13:10:21

It totally depends on where they work.

My employers would be really awkward, and want to be repaid in blood, but I'm paid hourly.