Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Where should my 4 month old sleep until I come to bed?

(44 Posts)
FredFlintstonesSister Fri 11-Jul-14 21:55:35

Posting in chat for traffic - I really need an answer! DD is 4 months old and sleeps in a crib in my room. She used to nod off while being BF and then sleep in a Moses basket in the living room until we were ready for bed.

She is now too big for the Moses basket and so sometimes sleeps on me in the evening or else I have to go to bed super early so she can sleep in her crib.

I would like to try to get her to go to sleep a bit earlier than her current 9.30pm bedtime but this isn't practical while she either sleeps on me or I have to go to bed with her. I have tried a sling but she hated it. I have a baby monitor but so far have been too nervous to use it, even for naps. Does anyone have any suggestions? I have a Netflix subscription and I don't ever get a chance to use it!

SiennaBlake Fri 11-Jul-14 21:58:26

Would a movement monitor in the crib make you feel more confident? I had dd in the Moses basket until six months and then she was upstairs in the cot with an angelcare mat underneath.

Or would a travel cot downstairs work?

Donner Fri 11-Jul-14 21:59:26

In her crib, use the monitor. Don't go to bed with her. You need some time to yourself. She'll be fine in her crib, she'll be asleep, she won't even know you're not there.

SaggyAndLucy Fri 11-Jul-14 21:59:55

We have a lovely travel cot. its got a raised layer son you don't have to bend right in to it. It's fab.smile

IamSlave Fri 11-Jul-14 22:00:42

we had ours with us too until we went to bed in moses.

take her to bed let her Bf to sleep then transfer her into her crib.

at this age this will be fine but be aware when over 6 months you may been to start sleep training

1stMrsF Fri 11-Jul-14 22:00:57