Please note that threads in this topic are removed from the archive 90 days after the thread was started. If you would like your thread to be retrievable for longer than that, please choose another topic in which to post it.

Qualified Lawyer?

(21 Posts)
SocksRock Thu 26-Jun-14 20:41:44

If someone claims to have qualified as a lawyer, what does this actually mean? Is there any way to check this if they are not currently practising? I don't know how lawyer registration works, or what you need to call yourself a lawyer.

This is to do with someone using their qualifications to browbeat a friend of mine "I am a qualified lawyer, don't you know, don't you think I know best?"

I have some suspicions that they may not be totally above board, but have no way of proving this.

This is a name change as I don't wish the person I'm having doubts about to come across this...

JuniDD Thu 26-Jun-14 20:47:03

If they're a solicitor they should be on the roll. You can check this on the Solicitors Regulation Authority. I'll try to find the link.

I don't know how to search for barristers or legal executives. I don't think many people qualified into one of the professions would call themselves a "lawyer" though, not in the UK.

JuniDD Thu 26-Jun-14 20:49:35

This is it You can put their name in to search the roll.

Leeds2 Thu 26-Jun-14 20:53:08

Remember that they may be registered under a maiden/different name.

Agree if they are a solicitor they should be on the SRA website (go to the 'pro' search bit)

I am a solicitor but do often refer to myself as a lawyer but mainly because I work In house with legal people from all over the world so easier to say lawyer as a catch all rather than someone saying they are an advocat (French), attorney (US) etc etc plus some barristers don't continue as court lawyers and just work as generalists too so we have a lot of them.

So it might not be sinister.