Please note that threads in this topic are removed from the archive 90 days after the thread was started. If you would like your thread to be retrievable for longer than that, please choose another topic in which to post it.

when i graduate as a mental health nurse I need an immediate job, if nothing permanent comes up, what can I do?

(33 Posts)
Loveneverfails Sat 07-Jun-14 20:09:10

any ideas?

Agency working? though do they take on complete newbies?

shouldnthavesaid Sat 07-Jun-14 20:13:55

Yes to agency work but also healthcare support work, working in a special school, care home, rehabilitation centre, prison, mental health charities and support groups, residential schools - there's all sorts that you can do. You might not find that you can immediately work in a hospital environment unfortunately however you'll find your skills will be transferable and useful to all sorts of employers, and not necessarily always in the field you except. I mean if you have good people skills you might even be good for a human resources team, or maybe youth work, family support work, all sorts.

Don't discount the idea of getting a full time job based solely on vacancies in hospitals, that's what I mean to say, look further afield and keep an open mind smile It's all experience and knowledge gained, after all..

Loveneverfails Sat 07-Jun-14 20:15:22

thats true.

I am bricking myself about not getting a job sad

I have been a stay at home mum for years, then done this degree, so not sure how much 'experience' I have tbh other than life's grin

iliketea Sat 07-Jun-14 20:22:26

How far away are you from finishing your studies? I've known student nurses to be offered jobs with 4 or 5 months of training still left (it can take that long for crb and occ health / other hr stuff), so make sure you apply early. Otherwise, nursing homes with dementia units may be worth a try for jobs, even if you have to work as an hca until your Pin arrives.

magpiegin Sat 07-Jun-14 20:24:30