Please note that threads in this topic are removed from the archive 90 days after the thread was started. If you would like your thread to be retrievable for longer than that, please choose another topic in which to post it.

I bought a slow cooker cause a squillion mn-ers think they're just marvellous. What a crock(pot)!

(119 Posts)
restinggenius Sun 09-Feb-14 15:39:19

I've had it over 2 months now, have made a variety of meals in it and without exception they've been average at best.
I'm a decent cook and my oven/hob based cooking is usually good, often scrumptious.
So today it shall be packed off the the gadget retirement cupboard to kick back with the george foreman, the smoothie maker, the one-cup coffee pot and some other pointless crap.
And I shall stop believeing every word I read on tinternet.

Romann Wed 12-Feb-14 08:25:22

Very good for roast chicken - put in on high for 4 hours. Makes much less mess than the oven. I don't understand the porridge thing either.

frugalfuzzpig Wed 12-Feb-14 08:21:22

A question if I may...

Brisket was quite nice but a little dry. I put stock to about a quarter of the way up so does that mean I need more, or does it mean it was cooked too long? Or not long enough? (About 6.5hrs on low)

Doesn't seem to be an exact science, when I googled and also searched MN threads but every post/recipe suggested something different!

fledtoscotland Wed 12-Feb-14 08:14:46

I used to use mine loads when we were all getting in at 5.30pm tired & hungry. Cba with browning everything before it goes in and apart from bolognase/chilli everything else tastes watery. Couldn't ever find a chicken recipe that didn't make the chicken taste "grainy".

George Foreman grill gets used at least once a week

bruffin Wed 12-Feb-14 08:13:45