How on earth do you cook Christmas dinner.......

(17 Posts)
FondantFancy66 Sat 02-Jan-16 19:57:45

......when there's 15 of you? I've just added up how many relatives are likely to be in the country next Christmas, and we've got the biggest house. I have a normal sized kitchen. My oven is normal sized, and grill can also be used as an oven. Microwave works as an oven too, but isn't brilliant. Four hob rings and a wok burner. This year there were five of us. It was a struggle cramming everything in and timing it right, and we didn't even have a whole turkey. Restaurant or hotel not really an option unfortunately.

Those of you who have done Christmas dinner en masse, any tips? I'm a decent cook, but my weakest point is definitely timing. How can I remain unfrazzled?

Failing that, how can I persuade the in-laws to have Christmas abroad?!

RomComPhooey Sat 02-Jan-16 20:05:56

You can precook stuff like red cabbage and reheat in a slow cooker. A large turkey cantaken out to 'stand' for a while before serving, long enough to get the pigs in blankets in and to crisp up roast potatoes you parboiled and part roasted (part roast for 45 min, crisp up for final 15 min) earlier/the day before.

SuburbanRhonda Sat 02-Jan-16 20:11:41

Buy or borrow a hostess trolley!

They are very 70s, but if your kitchen is big enough you can plug it in and keep everything warm while you do the last minute things.

DM, who is 80, cooked for 11 of us this Christmas and she definitely couldn't have done it without her hostess. She did a leg of lamb, oven-baked fish for two people and a home-made nut roast.

She's a legend, by the way smile

Artandco Sat 02-Jan-16 20:15:54

All large joints should be taken out to rest anyway. So you do them first, then add stuff like roast potatoes in after ( par boil so quicker). Same with any roasted root veg, par boil earlier in day then roast later

Pre cook red cabbage weeks before and freeze, microwave on day.

GrouchyKiwi Sat 02-Jan-16 20:19:08