Is anyone else alone Christmas Eve/Christmas morning?

(28 Posts)
SPsWantsCliffInHerStocking Tue 17-Dec-13 15:14:17

I just wondered if anyone else is and if so do you have plans to get through it quickly?

My son is at his dads Christmas eve afternoon til Christmas day afternoon. This is my first year alone.

I'm going to my mums Christmas day afternoon where my son will be dropped off at. I just need something to pass time til then.

I was thinking about a Chinese and a film Christmas eve but that's it.

ZombieSquirrel Wed 18-Dec-13 00:31:56

Yes.

DC with their dad.

I'm going to be bored and feel lonely.

So I'm buying myself chocolate as a treat and I'm going to have a long lie in and be nice to myself for once.

ChristmasStrumpet Wed 18-Dec-13 00:03:23

Lots of online sales start Xmas eve and Xmas day. If you are in you could treat yourself to a few bargains and even start next years Xmas shopping.

Sharpkat Tue 17-Dec-13 23:57:55

Am on my own until about 6pm on Christmas Day. I have to work between Christmas and New year and Mum wants to see Grandad in the nursing home as it will be his first Christmas there. She then has a 4 hour drive to get to me.

Am thinking a lie in, then a quick clean and change beds and whack the turkey in.

Rock n' roll grin

sparklysilversequins Tue 17-Dec-13 23:49:46

I am a lone parent too but so far the Christmas thing hasn't been an issue because ex usually comes here for the morning and maybe lunch then goes off and does his own thing. I can see though that that will change at some point.

So me, on Christmas Eve I would finish up my shopping/jobs then go to the cinema, I always go alone so it's no big deal. I would go for a long run or walk with the dog the next morning, come back and make the house beautiful and Christmassy for kids return and make myself scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for breakfast. Then they'd be back.

SPsWantsCliffInHerStocking Tue 17-Dec-13 23:39:31

Thank you for suggestions.